V & A Museum: Fashion Through the Ages

A Ladies "Pump" from 1750

There is an amazing exhibit occurring at the Victoria & Albert Museum In London. It has gained international publicity. There are two parts. First is a showcase of Fashion through the ages. Secondly there is the “Grace Kelly” exhibit.

I attended for the Grace Kelly portion. She is my idol and I could not pass up the opportunity to stand a foot away from her Monaco gowns, the dress she wore to the Oscar’s and the famed Hermes “Kelly” bag. However, no photographs were allowed so I don’t have that to share with you.

While I waited for my chance to see the exhibit I stumbled upon a different fashion showing. It was incredible. Couture clothing from across the ages. Shoes from 1790, corsets and layers of fabric on ballgowns (pre-air conditioning!). You watch the evolution of women’s fashion. Layers of fabric condensed down to one, necklines dropping and hems rising. There’s a photo of the first woman’s suit by Chanel. Still all lace and pearls it was a revolution. The Highlight? The famous white beaded dress worn by Princess Diana. The part I could have done without? A Juicy Couture sweat pant set. How that even made it into consideration I’ll never know.

For the men, unfortunately not much was displayed. Sorry guys! There was a beautiful Tom Ford designed, Gucci, blue velvet tuxedo. Stunning!

The exhibit runs until the end of this September in London. Here are a few pictures for those that can’t attend. You can see a few more by clicking on this link to my Flickr photo album.

Enjoy!

Ladie's Day Dress. It weighs 10 pounds.

Boot from 1790

Tailored Jacket for Women circa 1890

The Famous Princess Di Dress

To get recipe ideas from all around the world  follow my company, Dove Concepts on twitter or become a fan on facebook.

All recipes © Laura Dove

About lauraedove

I have been working and studying in the hospitality industry for 15 years. Champagne Sundays came about through gathering with friends and e
This entry was posted in Articles, Informational, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment