Meatless Monday: Soba Noodle “Pasta” Salad

This Meatless Monday is a two part series. Today we are making a lighter version of a traditional pasta dish. Later on in the week we will use the remaining vegetables and noodles and mix it with miso marinated bass. Delicious!

I don’t know about you but I love pasta! However, a good pasta dish takes me down a dark road. Let’s not even discuss a good bowl of Mac and cheese. For the sake of my heart I have to consider that a very special treat. I’m talking about your weekly easy fix pasta dish. White pasta has no nutritional value. Just a single tablespoon of parmesan cheese has 8 grams of saturated fat. I don’t know about you but I never use just one tablespoon of cheese in my pasta.

To keep myself away from temptation I keep my weekly pasta dish in a forward healthy direction. This dish satisfies my carb and savory craving and it only contains 4 grams of fat in total. Soba noodles are made from buckwheat flour which provide energy, all 8 amino acids and antioxidants. They also taste amazing hot or cold.  I can feel good about that!

Enjoy!

Soba Noodle Pasta Salad
(Serves 2)

1 Package of Soba Noodles, it is bundled in sets of 4. Use 2 bundles.
1 Zucchini, sliced thin
6 Brown mushrooms, sliced thin
2 Cups snow peas, sliced in half
1 Package baby spinach, 4 ounces
½ cup Vegetable stock
2 Tablespoons sesame seeds
1 Tablespoon sesame oil
1 Tablespoon Olive oil

In a small saucepan bring 4 cups of cold water with a pinch of salt to a boil.
Add noodles, cook for 4 minutes.
Drain and rinse noodles in cold water, set aside.
Bring a non stick wok to high heat.
Once the pan is hot add olive oil.
Lightly coat pan with the oil and add all the vegetables.
Cook over high heat, tossing consistently. Cook for about 3-4 minutes. Just until vegetables wilt but remain bright in color.
Add sesame oil and sesame seeds and toss vegetables to evenly coat.
Add vegetable stock and noodles.
Cook until combined.
Serve immediately hot or place in bowl and refrigerate for 1 hour for chilled noodles.

To get recipe ideas from all around the world  follow my company, Dove Concepts on twitter or become a fan on facebook.

All recipes © Laura Dove

About lauraedove

I have been working and studying in the hospitality industry for 15 years. Champagne Sundays came about through gathering with friends and e
This entry was posted in Healthy, Meatless Monday, Pasta, Recipes, Vegan, Vegetables, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Meatless Monday: Soba Noodle “Pasta” Salad

  1. Tammy McLeod says:

    This looks fantastic. I love soba noodles and keep them on hand but hand no idea about the health benefits. Thanks for that. I think this would also be really good with shitake mushrooms.

  2. lauraedove says:

    Absolutely! Love your blog!

Leave a Reply

