A Behind the Scenes Look at “Champagne Sundays”

This blog is such a blast! But, it is hard work! I’m a huge fan of food, wine, interacting with people and the creative aspect of the Hospitality Industry. I am not however, a fan of desks and computers. The latter is needed to accomplish this food blog goal.

I have found that writing the “Champagne Sundays” cookbook to be much easier than creating the blog. For the blog I’ve had to learn all kinds of programs, computer aspects, social media and more. If I want to speak to someone I pick up the phone and call, not browse the internet to see what they are doing. Creating the blog has been a new learning experience that would not have happened without the tutelage of many people who literally had to teach me the basics about everything. I thank you all!

The creative aspect of the blog and the book are very much alive and here is an inside look! I am, to say the least, obsessive about my work. I live and breathe anything to do with food and wine. I find inspiration where ever I go. I carry a camera in my handbag and snap pictures of anything I find interesting. It might be a entree at a restaurant, an ingredient I’ve never seen before at a farmer’s market, the pattern on a chair or even a specific font used on signage.

I take these pictures along with all the endless literature I collect and catalogue them into diaries. I’m a visual and tactile person so I love having endless journals full of thoughts, ideas and photographs from all around the world. Each page acts as a memory jolt of a great experience. Here is a picture of one year’s collection of journals:

A years worth of journals filled with inspirational ideas and amazing memories

From here I piece together ideas and recipes. I tend to focus on one ingredient, spice or idea and draft dozens of possible dishes. Once I get a few down on paper (yes paper, not the computer) it sparks even more ideas and that can turn into an entire chapter.

Next it’s time in the kitchen. Crafting and creating dishes that even if I make it a hundred times over I still can’t wait to taste. It is crucial that the recipes reflect health, use only seasonal produce and will be easy to prepare.

When I paired up with Amy Wise-Bacis Photography it was a match made in heaven. We are both passionate about what we do. Some food stylists alter or “enhance” the food items so they come across “better” on camera.

At Champagne Sundays we absolutely practice what we preach! This is all about creating healthy, seasonal food to share with friends, family and loved ones. Amy and I scheduled an entire day of cooking and shooting. I invited friends over to share all the dishes we made that day.

With music playing and some wine flowing we set off! I would make a dish. She would photograph it at different stages. This was not that easy. She had to constantly evaluate the dish, catch the dish and the lighting at just the right time. If you’d like to know more of her technical aspects on food styling take a look at her blog on the link above.

In 10 hours we accomplished 6 dishes and I don’t know how many pictures! It was so rewarding! The guests arrived, the music got louder, the wine poured more freely and we sat under the stars and truly enjoyed a hard days work!

Here are a few behind the scenes pictures of the days events:

A table full of props for the shoot. The props are a collection of pieces from all over the world I collect, mostly from antique markets

Amy setting up a shot of some raw ingredients, fresh thyme and garlic. These ended up in the roasted chicken!

Amy is testing the angle and setting up the shot of the Farmers Market Vegetable Tacos

Lights! Camera! Action!

The Final Picture!!!! And then we ate them! 🙂

Thanks to all of you for following! I hope this inspires you to grab a magazine, cookbook or recipe from this blog and get in the kitchen!!

To get recipe ideas from all around the world  follow my company, Dove Concepts on twitter or become a fan on facebook.

All recipes © Laura Dove

About lauraedove

I have been working and studying in the hospitality industry for 15 years. Champagne Sundays came about through gathering with friends and e
This entry was posted in Articles, Food Ideas and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Behind the Scenes Look at “Champagne Sundays”

  1. Mama Flynn says:

    Laura, I have thoroughly enjoyed all of your blogs. Your writing is wonderful……and I thought you were just a great cook! Keep up the good / great work! xxooing

  2. Your posts always make me smile. FYI, I’m 16 weeks pregnant and if it’s a girl, we are naming her Elise. 😉

Leave a Reply

