Rainbow Couscous Soup

I love traveling! New and familiar cities always bring unexpected experiences. My days are filled with finding new ingredients. That means roaming the streets in search of markets, independent shops and restaurants. Local residents are always happy to show me their favorite spots and chefs will share their secrets to the most amazing dishes.

The only downside for me is the loss of control in the kitchen. Especially when I am gone for a month at a time. Socializing and eating out every day means I’m not always at establishments which offer the healthiest options.

When I get home from my travels I always need a good detox. The word “detox” to a lot of us means food deprivation. Liquid diets and shakes are not the way to get our natural health back in balance. I always feel healthier after a few bowls of this.

I love this soup because it’s based on the principle of “if it has color, throw it in.” Luckily there are farmers markets each day of the week. If not I go to my organic shops and search for anything just coming into season. I use whole wheat couscous and a variety of vibrant vegetables as a natural vitamin pack.

Rainbow Couscous Soup

1 Cup Whole wheat couscous
1 Quart (4 cups) Vegetable stock
1 Small carrot, chopped small
2 Garlic cloves, chopped small
1 Bunch Baby broccoli, ends trimmed and chopped into ¼” pieces (will measure to about 2 cups once chopped)
2 Cups baby cherry tomatoes (I liked the mixed variety with red, yellow and orange tomatoes)
1/4 Pound Rainbow chard, (about 3 stalks), rinsed, pat dry with paper towel, cut vertically down the center following the colored stalk. Then cut segments again into strips horizontally.
1 Can cannellini beans, drained and rinsed
Juice of 1 lemon
1 Teaspoon of Lemon zest (zest lemon first then juice)
1 Teaspoon fresh lemon thyme
Pinch of sea salt and fresh cracked pepper

To Make the Couscous:
Make couscous separately from soup. Bring 2 cups of water to a boil in a small sauce pot.
Once boiling remove from heat, add couscous, cover and let sit for 5 minutes.
Fluff with fork to keep from sticking together and set aside.

To make Soup Base:
In a large pot add the vegetable stock. Add carrots, thyme and garlic. Bring to a boil and immediately reduce heat low so the soup is simmering. Simmer about 15 minutes.
Add beans, broccoli, tomatoes, rainbow chard and lemon juice. Cook another 5-10 minutes. This is not a soup you leave simmering with all the vegetables in it for long periods of time. You want the vegetables to be vibrant and full of color but just soft enough in texture.
Taste the soup after 5 or so minutes. Add salt and pepper in at this point. Amount you add will vary according to the brand of vegetable stock you use (some are much higher in sodium than other). You may not need to add any additional salt or pepper.
Once the vegetables are soft, cooked through but still colorful, remove the pot from heat. Stir in couscous.
Divide into serving bowls. Sprinkle with lemon zest just before serving.

*Note: This recipe makes 4 entree sized bowls. If I’m making this for myself I either follow the directions and save the remainder in a sealed container in the fridge or I add 1 cup broth, 1/4 cup couscous and eyeball the vegetables I throw in until it’s enough.

To get recipe ideas from all around the world  follow my company, Dove Concepts on twitter or become a fan on facebook.

All recipes © Laura Dove

About lauraedove

I have been working and studying in the hospitality industry for 15 years. Champagne Sundays came about through gathering with friends and e
This entry was posted in Grains, Soups, Vegan, Vegetables, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

