Welcome to Champagne Sundays!

Here it is! My very first blog entry. This is a project that has been a long time in the making. Developing and testing recipes has been a hard job over the last year. Finding willing tasters has not!

The goal of this journal is to share recipes I’ve developed from ingredients that inspire me from all around the world. I would like to leave a small imprint on this world in helping people lead a life that is kinder to their body and the planet. I’ve been tinkering with traditional favorite foods and converting them to healthier options. Sometimes fooling friends and family. A true sign of accomplishment!

Cooking healthier means discovering new ingredients, methods and substitutes from what we’ve always known. I’m happy to do the work and friends are happy to do the tasting if it means that when you open a new recipe it means minimal work for you.

These recipes are considered vegetarian or vegan in nature. Those two words will automatically intimidate some of you. But please don’t let it. Hopefully you’ll find these recipes so tasty you won’t even notice the absence of meat.  I also respect that many people want to be considerate of our planet but are not willing to forgo the presence of animal protein every day. I will be including recipes that have twists on the traditional favorites.  Instead of doing “Meatless” Mondays in my house I do “Meat Mondays.” One day a week of animal or fish protein instead of six. But, however you choose to organize your week I’m hoping you’ll find inspirational recipes to fit every mood and celebration.

For my first recipe entry I am posting my Black Forbidden Rice with Butternut Squash Salad. This dish can be hearty enough to serve on it’s on or as a side item. I think it perfectly symbolizes the transition from winter to spring.

Butternut squash is a winter favorite and staple. However, it tends to get included with heavy dairy creams, pancetta and cheeses. This recipe highlights the simple sweet natural flavors that can be appreciated any time of year.

Enjoy!

Black “Forbidden” Rice and Butternut Squash Salad
1 Butternut Squash
2 Cups Black “Forbidden” rice
2 Tablespoons of shallot, finely chopped
½ Cup sliced almonds
½ Cup Parsley, roughly Chopped

Heat oven to 400 degrees.

Cut butternut squash in half. Remove inner seeds. Drizzle with olive oil.

Bake for 40 minutes. Cool. Remove outer skin. Chop butternut squash into 1 inch cubes. Set aside.

Bring a medium pot with 3 cups of water and the black rice to a boil. Cover and reduce heat to a simmer. Cook for 20 minutes.

Toss squash, shallots, almonds and parsley (reserving some for garnish) into rice.

To get recipe ideas from all around the world  follow my company, Dove Concepts on twitter or become a fan on facebook.

All recipes © Laura Dove

About lauraedove

I have been working and studying in the hospitality industry for 15 years. Champagne Sundays came about through gathering with friends and e
This entry was posted in Grains, Healthy, Recipes, Rice, Vegan, Vegetables, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Welcome to Champagne Sundays!

  1. Jennifer says:

    YUM! Thanks for the recipe!

  2. Excited for your new blog, and looking forward to seeing you at Camp Blogaway!

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention Welcome to Champagne Sundays! « Champagne Sundays -- Topsy.com

  4. Great post! Looks delicious. I’ll be seeing you at campblogaway

  5. Nick says:

    Congratulations! Love your approach of delicious recipes that are kinder to the body and the planet!

  6. Looks wonderful, but what – pray tell – is black “forbidden” rice?

  7. Ap says:

    Those look like yummy healthy recipes! I will have to try those out and pass them on to my vegan friends who now a days seem to be just about everyone!
    So happy to see you finally started this.

  8. Roxanne Case says:

    Looking forward to learning recipes for the new rices I have discovered through lotus foods. I love forbidden rice and want to try it in a various ways but have no guides (no-one I know has even heard of it). Will you have recipes for other things like Quinoa and bulger by any chance?

    • lauraedove says:

      Hello Roxanne,
      Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a comment. I do have recipes for Quinoa and bulger! I am posting a quinoa one on Friday. Also, I have received many requests for rice advice. I am compiling a “how to” guide and hope to have that out by the end of next week. I will keep you posted. If you have any other requests I will be happy to help.

Leave a Reply

